Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)


The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines provide guidelines and Success Criteria for each corresponding standard to create inclusive digital environments; particularly so people with disabilities have the broadest possible access to content and services.

  • There are three levels of conformance, rated from minimally inclusive to broadly inclusive:
    • A - minimum level of conformance and effort
    • AA - average conformance and effort
    • AAA - broadest conformance and effort
  • Unfortunately there's not a one -to-one relationship between each criterion and its corresponding standard
    • they are applied across all of the technologies that create the digital accessibility landscape
    • the steps to show conformance will vary with each application of the corresponding technology
    • this may cause confusion as it allows for interpretation in proving conformance

Best Practice:  avoid barriers between your consumers and the corresponding content and technologies.  This will naturally meet higher WCAG standards, increase usability (and for web applications and content -- will improve Search Engine Optimization).

WCAG Principles

Learn the basics of WCAG

Additional Resources

Other related resources:

Have digital accessibility questions or site feedback?
Email the digital accessibility team