About WCAG Overview and principles

What is WCAG?

On this page


  • WCAG Overview

    The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines provide guidelines and Success Criteria for each corresponding standard to create inclusive digital environments; particularly so people with disabilities have the broadest possible access to content and services.

    • There are three levels of conformance, rated from minimally inclusive to broadly inclusive:
      • A - minimum level of conformance and effort
      • AA - average conformance and effort
      • AAA - broadest conformance and effort
    • Unfortunately there's not a one -to-one relationship between each criterion and its corresponding standard
      • they are applied across all of the technologies that create the digital accessibility landscape
      • the steps to show conformance will vary with each application of the corresponding technology
      • this may cause confusion as it allows for interpretation in proving conformance

    Best Practice:  avoid barriers between your consumers and the corresponding content and technologies.  This will naturally meet higher WCAG standards, increase usability (and for web applications and content -- will improve Search Engine Optimization).

    Back to top

  • WCAG's Four Principles

    1. Perceivable - Users should be able to perceive the content, functionality, and methodology presented. These guidelines are in section 1.
    2. Operable - Users should be able to operate the interface, including the navigation and processes. These guidelines are in section 2.
    3. Understandable - Users should be able to understand the  functionality, methodology, and information presented. These guidelines are in section 3.
    4. Robust - Content and functionality should be robust and work with multiple methods interaction including voice and assistive technologies. These guidelines are in section 4.

    Back to top

Related Topics