Academy of Master Teachers

Welcome to the Academy of Master Teachers

About Us

The UTMB Academy of Master Teachers, established in 2007, is an honorary service organization to recognize Master Teachers and to provide an array of faculty development opportunities for all UTMB Faculty, including an annual Faculty Development Day, annual Education Symposium, education grand rounds, journal club, innovation grants, mentoring and consultations. Membership is by application and selection against a set of standards. Members serve five-year terms and may be honored with the designation as University of Texas Distinguished Teaching Professors.

Mission Statement

The Academy of Master Teachers is an inter-professional community serving UTMB through the promotion of educational excellence.

Vision Statement

The Academy of Master Teachers will propel UTMB to a national and global reputation for excellence in Biomedical and Health Professions education.


2018 Education Week 

Monday, May 7, 2018

5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Research Building 6, Room 1.108 - Limited seating for 24
"How to Increase Your Scholarly Contributions as a Teacher and Educator"
Hors d'oeuvre will be served

Tuesday, May 8, 2018
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Research Building 6, Room 1.102 - Limited seating for 22
Latest and Greatest in Educational Technology
Lunch will be served

Tuesday, May 8, 2018
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Research Building 6, Room 1.108 - Limited seating for 24
Latest and Greatest in Educational Technology
Hors d'oeuvre will be served

Wednesday, May 9, 2018
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Research Building 6, Room 1.108 - Limited seating for 24
"So You Want to be a Teacher?"
Lunch will be served

Thursday, May 10, 2018
5:00 pm - 6:30 pm
Research Building 6, Room 1.206
Come join us for Education Happy Hour! Various UTMB faculty will be presenting their ideas, work, etc... This is a come and go event.
Happy Hour Hors d'oeuvre will be served

Registration Fee: Free!!!

Register: Click here.

Texas Educator's Academies collaborative for health professions - southeast educational symposium

Presenter: Patricia O'Sullivan, EdD
Director, Research and Development in Medical Education/Center for Faculty Educators
University of California San Francisco, School of Medicine 

"Cognitive Load: Learning in the Workplace"

Friday, May 11, 2018
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
BioScience Research Collaborative (Rice University)
6500 Main Street
Houston, TX 77030

Registration Fee: $125 (Early Bird Registration Fee $100 until April 24, 2018)

Register: Click here.

Call for Letter of Intent to Apply to Academy of Master Teachers

The Academy of Master Teachers is accepting Letters of Intent to apply for AMT membership. The application forms and information are available on the menu bar labeled - "How to Apply" on the AMT home page. 

Deadline for Letters of Intent is no later than noon, Monday, May 21st. 

The Academy is an honorary organization recognizing academic leaders and scholarship within the UTMB community of educators. Members are expected to provide a service and actively participate in the AMT sponsored events to advance the mission of the organization and to promote the scholarly efforts of advancing educators through membership, faculty development and funding. The rewards of membership include reduced registration to the annual AMT conferences and eligibility to hold the honorary title of UT Distinguished Teaching Professor in addition to eligibility for endowed professorships.

If you have any questions, contact D'Anne DeWitt, Academy Coordinator for further assistance.

Loree Pryor
Educator of the Month - April 2018

Loree Pryor, MOT, OTR
Assistant Professor/Fieldwork Coordinator
School of School of Health Professions

Congratulations to Professor Pryor for being nominated as AMT Educator of the Month for April 2018. She shows great dedication and enthusiasm for teaching her students in the School of Health Professions.

"Professor Pryor goes above and beyond for her students. She is continuously working hard for all of the students to find fieldwork placements on top of being a student herself in a doctoral program. Her door is always open...she not only works on finding placements but also teaches a professional development course that coincides with fieldwork placement. She does all this and more for the department."

" Professor Pryor is a true hard worker. She shows wisdom, knowledge, and gets to the level of her students and teaches them. She cares about...the theoretical material but she always teaches us the application of (the) material. I feel like I am learning the material...necessary for me when I become a clinician or when I go to my clinical rotations. Hats off to Professor Pryor!!!"

Please join us in congratulating Professor Pryor for this well-deserved honor.


Rebecca Sealy Hospital
3.266 Route 0121
University of Texas Medical Branch
Galveston, TX 77555-0121
Phone: (409) 747-0203

Bernard Karnath

Bernard Karnath, MD

D’Anne DeWitt
Academy Coordinator