• Dr. Michael P. Sheetz Robert A Welch Distinguished University Chair in Chemistry in the Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

    UTMB researcher named top scholar by ScholarGPS

    Dr. Michael Sheetz is the top scholar in the world publishing on cytoskeletons and among the top 0.05 percent of scholars according to ScholarGPS, an analytics site which tracks and ranks scholars and institutions worldwide.

  • Care Closet expands to all UTMB campuses

    The Care Closet, which provides clothing, toiletries and other basic needs to patients and their families, is now available at the University of Texas Medical Branch League City, Clear Lake and Angleton Danbury campuses, in addition to the original program on the Galveston Campus.

  • UTMB Professor Receives Prestigious NIH Prize

    Dr. Ramkumar Menon, professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Texas Medical Branch, was recently awarded a prestigious prize of $50,000 from the National Institutes of Health.

  • Research grant awards target innovations in trauma care

    Five University of Texas Medical Branch primary investigators received competitive grant awards totaling $1,722,433 from the Trauma Research and Combat Casualty Care Collaborative for six research projects.

  • Dr. Hashem Shaltoni, neurologist and professor in the Department of Neurology

    UTMB Neurologist receives Joe Niekro Foundation Patient’s Choice Award

    Dr. Hashem Shaltoni, a neurologist and professor with the University of Texas Medical Branch Department of Neurology, was one of three local clinicians honored with a Patient’s Choice Award during the 2024 Joe Niekro Foundation’s 2024 Knuckle Ball Gala.

  • A picture of Hannah Luk in a white coat next to text that says Hannah Luk medical student in the John Sealy Schol of Medicine at YTMB

    UTMB student named All of Us Research Scholar

    Hannah Luk, a medical school student at the University of Texas Medical Branch Galveston John Sealy School of Medicine, has been selected to be a student researcher for the 2023-2024 All of Us Research Scholar Program.

  • Groups of faculty, staff and students posing with Dr. Reiser and members of the President's Cabinet

    UTMB President’s Cabinet announces 2023 award recipients

    Ten projects that address pressing health needs received a University of Texas Medical Branch President’s Cabinet award. The awards totaled more than $220,000 and will go to 26 UTMB faculty, staff and students working on the winning projects.