mountain

Site Owners: Managing Permissions

Note: The information below is excerpted from a Microsoft Support document covering this topic. More information is available there.

Manage site permissions

Site permission levels are based on SharePoint permission groups. Members of a SharePoint permission group can either visit the site without editing it (Site visitors), edit the site (Site members), or have full control of the site (Site owners).

Important: To change these settings you must have owner permissions on the SharePoint site.

  1. Go to your SharePoint team site.

  2. In the top right corner, click Settings Settings icon.

  3. Click Site permissions.

    Site permissions box

Invite people to your SharePoint team site

To give people access to your site, you can either add members to the Office 365 group associated with the site or you can share the site with others without adding them to an Office 365 group. For more on site permissions, see Understanding permission levels in SharePoint.

In SharePoint Online, to give people access to your site, click Invite people and choose one of the following:

  • Add Members to Group to add members to the Office 365 group associated with your site. This is the preferred method. Click Add members, enter a name or email address, and click Save. Members added to the Office 365 group are added to the SharePoint Site members permission group by default and can edit the site. They also have full access to the Office 365 group resources such as group conversations, calendar, etc.

  • Share Site Only to share the site with others without adding them to the Office 365 group associated with the site. Enter a name or email address, click the down arrow to select the SharePoint permission level, and then click Add. Sharing the site gives users access to the site, but they won't have access to the Office 365 group resources such as group conversations, calendar, etc.

    Invite people to your SharePoint site

Change site permissions

To change the permission level for an individual or group, click the down arrow next to the SharePoint permission level for that person or group and select Full Control to add them to the Site owners group, or Read to add them to the Site visitors group.

Note: To view all members of the Office 365 group associated with your site and their SharePoint permission levels, click members at the top right corner of your site.

 

Remove site permissions

In SharePoint Online, to remove someone who isn't a member of the Office 365 group associated with your site, click the down arrow next to the SharePoint permission level for that group and select Remove.

Note: The Remove option is only available for individuals or groups that aren't part of the Office 365 group.

To remove someone from the Office 365 group associated with your site, click members at the top right corner of the site, click the down arrow next to the permission level for that member, and click Remove from group.

Remove site permission

Advanced permission settings

If you are a site owner, you will see a link for Advanced permission settings where you can configure additional SharePoint permission settings. For more information, see Understanding permission levels in SharePoint.

All FAQs