Welcome to the E-Portal for the Department of Otolaryngology at the University of Texas Medical Branch. Our program, originally established in 1891, has traditionally been a leader in health education and innovation. This tradition still continues today and is championed by our faculty of driven individuals, trained at leading centers throughout our country now exercising their expertise here on Galveston Island. We actively engage in medical student and resident education, cutting edge basic and clinical science research, and most importantly, exemplary individualized care for our patients.

Thank you for your interest in our group.


Vicente Resto, MD, PhD, FACS
Chief Physician for Growth, UTMB Health
Associate Chief Physician Executive for Faculty Group Practice
Professor and Chair, Department of Otolaryngology
Harry Carothers Weiss Chair in Otolaryngology

Upcoming Events

Eighth Annual Alumni Golf Tournament
June 23, 2017
1:00 pm
Galveston Country Club

Eighth Annual Alumni Reception
June 23, 2017
6:00 pm
Galveston Country Club

Ninth Annual Byron Bailey Surgical Society Meeting
June 23, 2017
8:00 am
The Tremont House

Resident Graduation and Dinner
June 24, 2017
7:00 pm
The Tremont House

To view past events, please click here

Department News

Photo Gallery