Otolaryngology - The Byron Bailey Surgical Society

The Byron Bailey Surgical Society


For decades the University of Texas Medical Branch has trained medical students and residents. From 1968-2003 Dr. Byron Bailey served as the Wiess Professor and Chairman for the Department of Otolaryngology.

An internationally known and highly respected head and neck surgeon, Dr. Bailey is well recognized as a great teacher, humanitarian, and man of integrity.

The Byron Bailey Surgical Society has been formed not only to continue his great legacy of leadership and vision but also serve as a forum to fulfill his wish as spelled out in the dedication of the now famous textbook which bears his name.

"May we always keep the needs of our patients foremost in our minds and in our hearts as we study, learn, and practice the science and art of medicine."

— Byron J. Bailey, MD

Join us for the Twelfth Annual Byron Bailey Surgical Society Meeting at the The Hotel Galvez June 27, 2020.

For more information or to be mailed a brochure, contact Roxann Ortiz at: reortiz@utmb.edu.

Byron Bailey Surgical Society Meeting_trio
Dr Pine_Byron Bailey Surgical Society Meeting

Byron Bailey Surgical Society

Friday, June 26, 2020
Annual Alumni Golf Tournament
Moody Garden Golf Course
Tee Time 1:00 pm

Friday, June 26, 2020
Annual Alumni Reception
Moody Gardens Golf Course  - Club House
Dinner Service starts at 6:00 pm

Saturday, June 26, 2020
Twelfth Annual Byron Bailey Surgical Society Conference
The Hotel Galvez
Music Hal
Registration and Breakfast 8:00 am
Conference 8:30

Saturday, June 26, 2020
Resident Graduation Dinner & Ceremony
The Hotel Galvez
Music Hall
Cocktails 6:30 pm
Dinner 7:00 pm
Graduation Ceremony 8:00 pm

For more information or to be mailed a brochure, contact Roxann Ortiz at:
reortiz@utmb.edu or at 409.772.2715.

There are currently three ways to become a member of the Byron Bailey Surgical Society:

1. Be a graduate of the UTMB Health Department of Otolaryngology Residency Program

2. Be a member of the UTMB Health Department of Otolaryngology Faculty

3. Be a Guest Speaker at a Byron Bailey Surgical Society Conference

Reagn Davis, PA-C
Kelly Drago, PA-C
Susanna Green, PA-C
Gina Jefferson, MD, FACS
Brian McKinnon, MD, MBA, MPH, FACS
Lara Reichert, MD, MPH
Nik Rana, MD
Jordan Rawl, MD
Austin Rose, MD

Charles Bosk, PhD
Orly Coblens, MD
D. Gregory Farwell MD, FACS
Jeremy Foon, MD
Tran Thuong Lien
Ben McIntire, MD
Brian Nussenbaum, MD, FACS
J. Christopher Post, MD
Herbert Silverstein, MD, FAcs
Emily Tignor, MD

Robert Darling, MD
David O. Francis, MD, MS
Jiz Jordan, PA-C
Alexander Langerman, MD, SM, FACS
Felipe Santos, MD
Steven Smith, MD
Matt Yantis, MD

Mohamad Chaaban, MD, MSCR, MBA, FACS
Jeff Farroni, PhD, JD
Russell Kridell, MD, FACS
Annmarie Barnett, PA-C
Suzanne Patton, PA-C
Sharon Ramos, MD
Joseph Russell, MD
Hadi Seikaly, MD, MA, FRCSC
Eugene Son, MD
Wasyl Szeremeta, MD, MBA

Nikolas H. Blevins, MD
Mar Brettmann, PhD
Leonel Martinez, MD
Angelia Natili, MD
Ross Patton, MD
Melinda Stoner Quinn
Russell B. Smith, MD, FACS

Susan Edionwe, MD
Paul W. Gidley, MD, FACS
Rebecca J. Hester, PhD
Peter J. Koltai, MD, FACS
James W. Rocco MD, PhD
Naren Venkatesan, MD
Benjamin Walton, MD
Bradford A. Woodworth, MD

Mark Clark, PhD
Andrew Coughlin, MD
Ronald Deskin, MD, FAAP
Boyd Gillespie,MD, MSc
Bruce Leipzig, MD
Walter McReynolds, MD
Viet Pham, MD
David Terris, MD, FACS
Lam Huyen Tran

Karen Calhoun, MD, FACS
Ellen Friedman, MD, FAAP, FACS
David Gleinser, MD
Laura Hermer, JD, LLM
Andrew McWhorter, MD
Francisco Pernas, MD
Sam Weber, MD, FACS

Joe Edmunds, MD, FACS, FAAP
Jan Heller, PhD
Chris Holsinger, MD, FACS
Anthony Mikulec, MD, MBA, FACS
Joel Patterson, MD
Ryan Ridley, MD
Richard Waguespack, MD, FACS
Dayton Young, MD
Tammara Watts, MD, PhD

Paul Brindley, MD, FACS
Michael Briscoe, MD
Howard Brody, MD, PhD
George Browne, MD
Robert Frankenthaler, MD
Garrett Hauptman, MD
Kevin Ho, MD
Brent Senior, MD, FACS
Farrah Siddiqui, MD
Chad Simon, MD

Raghu Athre, MD
Byron Bailey, MD
David Callender, MD, MBA, FACS
Jean Paul Font, MD
Patricia Maeso, MD
Tomoko Makishima, MD, PhD, FACS
Susan McCammon, MD
Shraddha Mukerji, MD
Daniel Nuss, MD, FACS
Harold Pine, MD, FAAP, FACS
Vicente Resto, MD, PhD, FACS
Michael Underbrink, MD, MBA
Camysha Wright, MD
If you are interested in donating to the Byron Bailey Surgical Society Fund for Resident Education and Morale please e-mail:

Harold Pine, MD, FACS, FAAP