• Grade A for safety

    UTMB scores another A for safety and quality

    UTMB Health's health care system has received another A grade from the Leapfrog Group for its accomplishments in reducing errors, infections and accidents that can harm patients. The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade assigns grades to hospitals based on their record of patient safety, helping consumers protect themselves and their families from errors, injuries, accidents and infections.

  • AACVPR Certified Program

    UTMB Cardiac Rehabilitation Program Receives AACVPR Certification

    UTMB is proud to announce the re-certification of its Cardiac Rehabilitation program by the American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation (AACVPR). The Cardiac Rehabilitation program was recognized for its commitment to improving the quality of life by enhancing standards of care. Cardiovascular and pulmonary rehabilitation programs are designed to help people with cardiovascular problems and pulmonary problems recover faster and improve their quality of life.

  • Magnet recognized American nurses credentialing center

    UTMB again achieves Magnet recognition

    UTMB has again been recognized for meeting the highest standards of nursing. The American Nurses Credentialing Center notified UTMB that it had met the criteria of the Magnet Recognition Program that distinguishes health care organizations that meet rigorous standards for nursing excellence. This credential is the highest honor for professional nursing practice.

  • ACR badge

    UTMB Health Breast Imaging designated a "Center of Excellence"

    The hard work and dedication of the breast imaging team has resulted in national recognition. The program has been designated a “Center of Excellence” by the American College of Radiology. UTMB was one of the initial two programs in the Houston area to receive this prestigious honor, and one of the first in Texas to receive the designation.

  • 2017 vizient award logo

    UTMB recognized as a 5-star academic health center for patient care

    The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston has earned a prestigious national award for superior quality and care provided to patients. Earning five stars, the university is among a small number of academic medical centers nationwide to receive the 2017 Vizient Bernard A. Birnbaum, MD, Quality Leadership Award. The award recognizes UTMB for demonstrating superior quality and safety performance as measured by the Vizient Quality and Accountability Study.

  • American College of Surgeons Verified Trauma Center

    UTMB re-certified as a Level I Trauma Center

    UTMB has been recertified as a Level I Trauma Center by the Verification Review Committee of the Committee on Trauma of the American College of Surgeons. This achievement recognizes UTMB’s dedication to providing optimal care for injured patients.

  • GWTGL Stroke SilverPlus

    Stroke program continued recognition

    The stroke program at the University of Texas Medical Branch Galveston campus has received the American Heart Association and American Stroke Association's “Get with the Guidelines” Stroke Silver Plus Achievement Award. The award recognizes this hospital for its continued success in using the Get with the Guidelines — Stroke and Target: Stroke program. The award recognizes the hospital’s commitment to ensuring stroke patients receive the most appropriate treatment according to nationally recognized, research-based guidelines based on the latest scientific evidence.

  • The Joint Commission logo

    UTMB receives Advanced Center of Excellence in COPD designation

    UTMB has earned The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval for its chronic obstructive pulmonary disease program by demonstrating continuous compliance with national standards for health care quality and safety in disease-specific care. UTMB received the commission’s seal after enduring a rigorous on-site review earlier this month.

  • NCQA patient-centered medical home

    UTMB Family Medicine receives highest level of national certification in patient-centered care

    The UTMB Health Department of Family Medicine is pleased to share that its three departmental practices—Family Medicine Clinic - Dickinson, Family Medicine Clinic - Island East, and Family Medicine Clinic - Island West—have received renewed recognition from the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) as Level 3 Patient-Centered Medical Homes with an average scoring of 97 out of 100.