A Message from the Departmental Chair

Bhardwaj, Anish, MD, MBA, CPE, FACMPE, FACHE, FAHA, FCCM, FAAN, FANA The Department of Neurology at University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB) was established in 1973. It has a long-standing history and tradition in the practice and advancement of Clinical Neurosciences by providing the most comprehensive care to patients with neurologic illnesses from Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias, epilepsy, neuromuscular disorders, brain tumors, Parkinson’s Disease and other movement disorders, multiple sclerosis and other autoimmune disorders, stroke as well as other acute neurologic injuries. Our department has a robust laboratory research program in the Mitchell Center that is particularly focused at advancing our knowledge of neurodegenerative disorders. Additionally, we have a highly regarded fully-accredited neurology residency training program that has served for highly successful career trajectories for our graduates.

The values of the department are aligned with the mission of UTMB to uphold integrity, demonstrate compassion and respect, embrace diversity, and strive for excellence and innovation. The departmental philosophy and vision is to optimize an organizational environment that strives for excellence in the domains of: a) clinical patient care; b) teaching, training, and mentoring medical students, residents, fellows, faculty, and staff; and c) research and scholarship. Our overall goal is to continue providing state-of-the-art care to patients with neurologic disorders, conducting and enhancing research (clinical, translational, and basic science) through interdepartmental collaborations, and training the next generation of neurologists and neuroscientists to improve diagnosis, and management of neurologic disorders and to develop more innovative therapies and strategies for the future.


Anish Bhardwaj, M.D., M.B.A., M.S.,
Vice Provost
Chairman, Department of Neurology
John Sealy Distinguished Chair in Neurology
Professor, Neurology, Neurosurgery, Neuroscience, Cell Biology and Anatomy

University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB)
9.128 John Sealy Annex, Route 0539
301 University Blvd
Galveston, Texas 77555

Neuroscience Grand Rounds


Departments of Neurology & Neurosurgery

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston


Resident Quality Improvement Presentations

"Improving Advanced Care Planning and Discussion in the NCCU" - Dr. Yanis R. Amrani


"Optimizing Outpatient Order Entry Process to Reduce Click-Fatigue and Physician Burnout" - Dr. Aimalohi Esechie


"Effort to Improve the Resident in Training Examination (RITE) Scores of Neurology Residents at UTMB" - Dr. Ahmed K. Harazeen


"Implementation of a Lab-Draw Policy to Reduce Off-Hour Blood Work in the Neurology Floor" - Dr. Nelitza Vera-Vega


"Improving Healthcare Services to Patients Diagnosed with PNES During Admission at EMU UTMB" - Dr. Zacharia Shebani


"Implementation and Optimization of Heparin Drip Protocol in Neurology Patients at UTMB" - Dr. Sandeep Bhatt



Wednesday, June 7, 2023
7:15 - 8:30 AM

Microsoft Teams ONLY


Grand Rounds Speakers

Anish Bhardwaj, M.D.
Visiting Professorship in Neurology
Visiting Professorship

Mitchell Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases
  Click image to visit the new Mitchell Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases website