Neurology Banner

Clinical Neurophysiology FellowshipNeurology

The fellowship program matriculated its first fellow (Dr. Rafael Rodriguez, who had previously been the Chief Resident in our Neurology Residency Program) in July 2017, and after completing his fellowship training in June 2018, has joined private practice in Florida. The program matriculated its second fellow (Dr. Prashant Rai, who was the Chief Resident in our Neurology Residency Program) in July 2018. After completing his fellowship in June 2019, Dr. Rai joined UTMB as an assistant professor in the Department of Neurology and at present serves as Associate Director for the Neurology Residency Program. Dr. Ali Shoraka, joined our fellowship program in July 2019, after finishing his Neurology residency at UTHSC at Houston McGovern Medical School. After successful completion of his fellowship, he joined UT Health System as an assistant professor. Dr. Arpitha Komaragiri completed her Neurology residency at Louisiana State University and has joined our program for year 2020-2021.

Our Clinical Neurophysiology Fellowship Program trains one fellow per year, and that fellow benefits from the training, direct supervision, and expertise provided by 6 faculty members subspecializing in clinical neurophysiology. Clinical exposure includes a large number of EEGs (both outpatient and inpatient, including continuous EEG monitoring and critically ill patients), EMG/NCV studies (both inpatient and outpatient), and a 4-bed Epilepsy Monitoring Unit (EMU). Our fellowship also includes a significant amount of scholarly activity, as exemplified by the fact that our present fellow is currently involved in multiple research projects (in collaboration with residents), and a significant amount of experience in teaching, as evidenced by the weekly EEG reading workshops provided by the fellow to the residents, as well as neuromuscular conferences prepared by the fellow for the residents. In addition, the fellow is involved in a Quality Improvement (QI) project. Our fellows have presented abstracts at national conferences and have published articles in peer review journals.

The Clinical Neurophysiology Fellowship, which received initial accreditation by the ACGME RRC on November 12, 2014, effective July 1, 2015, provides one year of subspecialty training in clinical neurophysiology, which includes clinical and didactic training in EEG, epilepsy, EMG/NCV, neuromuscular medicine, and sleep medicine, as well as didactic training IOM (interoperative monitoring) and evoked potentials. The Clinical Neurophysiology Fellowship Program at UTMB hosted its initial ACGME Accreditation Site Visit on October 5, 2017.

Application requirements are as follows:

  • Three letters of reference including one from the program director of your most recent program
  • Personal statement
  • Current CV

Please email completed materials to:

Chilvana Patel, MD
Fellowship Program Director

Xiangping Li, MD
Fellowship Program Associate Director

Jeanene DeLaRosa
Fellowship Program Coordinator