UTMB Office of Faculty Affairs and Professional Development 


Click each headline for more information

  • President's Cabinet Awards

    March 1, 2019, 13:37 PM by Erin Ortiz
    2019 PRESIDENT'S CABINET AWARDS APPLICATION Submission deadline: Friday, May 31, 2019
  • Tait_Shanafelt_sm

    TOMORROW "The High Cost of Burnout" Tait Shanafelt

    January 14, 2019, 11:44 AM by Erin Ortiz
    Provost Lecture Series presents - Tait Shanafelt, MD "The High Cost of Burnout in Healthcare Professionals: Organizational Approaches To Improve Well-being" Tuesday, March 19, 7 a.m. breakfast, 7:30 a.m. lecture CME & CNE credits available.
  • Computer with books

    New Library Database: Scopus

    January 2, 2019, 15:33 PM by Erin Ortiz
    The Moody Medical Library now has access to Scopus, a multidisciplinary database covering the health sciences and many more areas of scholarship.
  • Jumping for joy

    Program: Finding & Creating Joy in Work

    January 2, 2019, 10:27 AM by Erin Ortiz
    Virtual program begins March 5, 2019
  • Well_Being image

    Well-Being Index

    September 27, 2018, 14:43 PM by Erin Ortiz
    We have partnered with MedEd Web solutions to provide the Well-Being Index, invented by the Mayo Clinic. Signup information available.

 Upcoming Events

3/19/19: Tait Shanafelt


The UTMB Office of Faculty Affairs and Professional Development (OFAPD) was formulated in 2013.

The expanded Office of Faculty Affairs & Professional Development, implemented in 2018, has a mission to develop a diverse faculty community in which each of our four schools (School of Medicine, School of Nursing, School of Health Professions, and Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences) has the opportunity to make important contributions to enhance the careers of the faculty commensurate with the mission, vision, and values of UTMB.

The vision of the OFAPD is to establish and sustain a culture that promotes faculty diversity and inclusion in all four schools (SOM, SON, SHP, GSBS); plan and implement faculty development activities that enhance recruitment, appointment, retention, and promotion of faculty; serve as a central source for information pertaining to benefits and compensation, policies and procedures, and disseminates information about resources and opportunities to maximize the offerings for professional growth and development for all faculty; ensure consistency with the school's strategic plan and core values, optimizing resource allocation by aligning the mission(s) of the three Academies (Academy of Master Teachers, Academy of Research Mentors, and Academy of Master Clinicians).