UTMB COVID-19 News and Updates - Click here.

Office of Faculty Affairs and Development

Dr. Bhardwaj

Vice Provost
Chairman, Department of Neurology
John Sealy Distinguished Chair of Neurology
Professor, Neurology, Neurosurgery, Neuroscience, Cell Biology and Anatomy

Dr. Torres

Alfredo Torres, PhD., M.S.
Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs
and Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion for the Academic Enterprise
The Herman Barnett Distinguished Professor in Microbiology and Immunology

The University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine, MD, Academy of Health Science Education

Membership Information

The University of Texas System (UTS) Kenneth I. Shine, MD, Academy of Health Science Education (the Shine Academy) was formed as both a 'working' service academy and a 'honorific' body that recognizes and utilizes faculty excellence in UTS health science education to serve UTS in all aspects of health science education, educational scholarship, and leadership.  The Academy seeks diverse membership representing the many disciplines contributing to health science education.  

Membership Criteria

The criteria for membership in the Academy are based on excellence in one or more of the following categories of education:

  • Direct teaching
  • Curriculum development and instructional design or re-design
  • Assessment of learner performance
  • Mentoring and counseling
  • Educational administration and leadership
  • Educational scholarship and research

Faculty interested in applying should submit an application and supporting documentation electronically by 5 pm on July 8, 2022 to Kirk Nealy, kdnealy@utmb.edu

Shine Application Form:  

    UTMB Shine Membership Application2022.docx


New Faculty Orientation - May 6, 2022

Regent’s Outstanding Teaching Awards 2022 Award Cycle

The University of Texas System will make approximately 15 awards of $25,000 each to outstanding members at the six health institutions for the fiscal year 2022.

Faculty interested in applying should submit a single pdf file (no longer than 50 pages) containing the following information to the Office of Faculty Affairs and Professional Development (OFAPD), Attention: Kirk Nealy, kdnealy@utmb.edu

ROTA Application Form

  • Written document outlining Teaching Philosophy, Student Evaluations, Evidence of Effectiveness of Methodologies/Innovations Developed, and Plan for Disseminating those Methodologies/Innovations
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Letters of Support (Department Chair and/or Dean, Peer Faculty, and Former Students)
  • (Optional) Supplemental Section – welcome to include video (5-10 min. total), multimedia, digital (personal website, LinkedIn profile, etc.) 

Click on the link below for the 2022 ROTA Application Form and Criteria:

2022 ROTA Application and Criteria

Internal Deadline:  Nominee packets due by 5 pm, Friday, June 3, 2022
Questions? Contact Kirk Nealy
, kdnealy@utmb.edu