The mission of the Department of Radiology is to provide teaching, research, and patient care service involving medical imaging and radiologic intervention at The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, Texas. The department occupies approximately 65,000 square feet of space in five separate buildings (including four off-island imaging facilities).

Twenty-three full-time faculty members who are appointed in the School of Medicine presently accomplish the academic portion of the mission.

The departmental staff is made up of physicians, scientists, administrative, technical, nursing, secretarial, and clerical employees totaling approximately 160 employees.




  • Congratulations

    July 9, 2020, 09:38 AM by Mary Urbani

    Congratulations to Dr. Arsalan Saleem, Dr. Irfan Masood, Dr Amin Moshkar, Dr. Peeyush Barghava, and Dr. Huda Al-Jadiry

  • Dr. Arsalan Saleem receives the Thayer Award for Excellence in Teaching

    July 9, 2020, 09:30 AM by Mary Urbani

    Our Radiology Resident, Dr. Arsalan Saleem is one of four UTMB residents that have been selected by Osler Student Scholars in the John P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine to receive the Thayer Award for Excellence in Teaching. The awards recognize residents who exemplify sound scientific knowledge, compassion toward patients and dedication to learning and teaching.


UTMB's Department of Radiology is accredited by the American College of Radiology in: Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), Computed Tomography (CT), Nuclear Medicine, and Ultrasound. It is also recognized as a Center of Excellence for Breast Imaging.