Pathology Residency & Fellowship Training Program

Cytopathology Fellowship

Applications for 2025-2026 will be accepted starting in July 2023 according to the ASC unified timeline.  
Link to Application

Ranjana Nawgiri, MDThis one-year program, accredited by ACGME for one position, offers advanced cytopathology training in diagnostic cytology including gynecologic and nongynecologic cytology. Gynecologic cytology includes largely liquid based, thin-layer slide preparations and few conventional smears performed on 30,000/year cervical-vaginal specimens. Non-gynecologic cytology consist of about 3000 specimens per year and includes fluids (body cavity and cerebrospinal), urines, and bronchial-pulmonary specimens. Fine needle aspirations consist of 1000/year, including superficial sites as well as image-guided and endoscopic ultrasonographically-guided FNA™'s of deep-seated mass lesions. Emphasis is put on routine screening of cases, performance and interpretation of FNAS™'s along with clinical, radiological and surgical pathology correlation. Also emphasized are routine cytopreparatory methods and use of ancillary techniques such as microbiologic cultures, reflex HPV-testing, immunohistochemistry, flow cytometry and molecular pathology. The fellow will have increasing levels of supervised responsibility in sign out. and is expected to participate in scholarly activities, quality management and administrative activities, didactic and tumor board conferences, and in the formal teaching of residents, medical students, and cytotechnology students. Research opportunities are widely available and the fellow is encouraged to design and complete a research project.


  • Ranjana Nawgiri, MD, Director Cytopathology
  • Cecilia Clements, MD
  • Jing He, MD
  • Vidarshi Muthukumarana, MD

Requirements: Board certification or eligibility in AP or AP/CP.

Stipend: Commensurate with candidate’s level of training.

Applications: Cytopathology Fellowship applications are available here. Send curriculum vitae, a personal statement concerning career goals along with completed application to the email addresses below. Please follow application guidelines carefully as it makes reference to additional supporting documents to complete your file. Address application inquiries to:

Ranjana Nawgiri, MD
Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
Director, Division of Cytopathology
Director, Cytopathology Fellowship Program
University of Texas Medical Branch
Clinical Service Wing Room, 5.506V
301 University Boulevard
Galveston, TX 77555-0548

Office: (409) 772-6654
Fax: (409) 772-8437
Email: Ranjana Nawgiri, MD -
Email: Rani Hayes, Program Coordinator -