Experimental Pathology Graduate Program

Graduate School/Admissions/Support

UTMB Health Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Admission Process

Graduate education at UTMB Health is organized and administered within the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (GSBS), a well-established component of UTMB Health. The GSBS was founded as a free-standing graduate school in 1969 and has 15 programs, 13 of which award doctoral degrees. These programs cross departmental boundaries and facilitate interdisciplinary research and teaching. All GSBS faculty have primary academic appointments either in the School of Medicine, Nursing, or Allied Health Professions and are often members of campus-based research centers or institutes such as the Institute for Human Infections and Immunity (IHII).

The GSBS admissions process is open September through April for Fall term (Aug-Sept) entry. Applications are submitted through a centralized GSBS web based application and then forwarded to a specific program admission committee based upon the applicant’s stated interest and experience. The Experimental Pathology Admissions and Recruitment Committee is responsible for selecting qualified applicants for our Program. Applicants are evaluated based on many factors including, but not limited to, undergraduate academic performance, research experience, personal statements, letters of recommendation, and personal interviews.

Graduate Student Support

Student stipends and tuition rates are determined by UTMB Health GSBS. First year students are supported by the GSBS, but subsequent support is provided by the student’s mentor upon entering a specific program. In 2017, 75% of our students were supported by extramural grants awarded to their mentors and 25% were supported by NIH supported training grants or by funds provided through intramural mechanisms. Current predoctoral NIH supported training opportunities are available through the T32 Vector-borne Diseases Training Program (PI- Dr. Lynn Soong) and the T32 Biodefense Training Program (PI-Dr. Ashok Chopra). Students are also supported by other sources including the McLaughlin Endowment and the Sealy Institute for Vaccine Sciences.