The Paul Brindley Distinguished Professorship and Scholarship Fund in Pathology

First Award (1982) John Childers, MD
Associate Director of Surgical Pathology
Parkland Memorial Hospital
Professor of Pathology
The University of Texas Health Science Center
Dallas, TX
"Histologic Variants of Carcinoma of the Breast"
Second Award (1983) Kenneth M. Earle, MD
Vice-President for Medical Affairs
Our Lady of Lourdes Regional Medical Center
Lafayette, LA
"The Origin, Classification and Pathophysiology of Meningiomas"
Third Award (1984) Dennis B. Dorsey, MD
Freelance Health Consultant
Boca Grande, FL
"The Autopsy in the 80’s — An Endangered Species"
Fourth Award (1985) Vernie A. Stembridge, MD
Professor and Chairman
Department of Pathology
University of Texas Health Science Center
Dallas, TX
"The Patient’s Physician"
Fifth Award (1986) Frank M. Townsend, MD
Professor of Pathology
The University of Texas Health Science Center
San Antonio, TX

"Some Thoughts on Texas Medicine in the Nineteenth Century Leading to the Formation of the Medical Branch"
Sixth Award (1987) Vinay Kumar, MD
Ashworth Professor of Pathology
Southwestern Medical School
The University of Texas Health Science Center
Dallas, TX

"Some Reflections on Medical Education in the Era of Information Overload"
Seventh Award (1988)
Washington C. Winn, Jr., MD
Professor of Pathology
University of Vermont College of Medicine
Director of the Clinical Microbiology Laboratory
Medical Center Hospital
Burlington, VT

"Legionella Philadelphia’s University Bicentennial Guest Anatomy of a New Disease"
Eighth Award (1989) Marie Valdes-Dapena, MD
Professor of Pathology
Department of Pathology
University of Miami, School of Medicine
Miami, FL
"Sudden Infant Death Syndrome"
Ninth Award (1990) Ruy Perez-Tamayo, MD, PhD
Professor of Pathology
Head, Sub-Division of Experimental Medicine
Faculty of Medicine
National University of Mexico City, Mexico
"Three Concepts of Disease"
Tenth Award (1991) Doyle G. Graham, MD, PhD
Professor of Pathology
Director, Integrated Toxicology Program
Dean Medical Education
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC
"Educating the Complete Physician"
Eleventh Award (1992) Robert D. Collins, MD
Professor of Pathology
Department of Pathology
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN
"The Most Important Neoplasm"
Twelfth Award (1993) Joe W. Grisham, MD
Kenan Professor and Chair of Pathology
Professor of Medicine
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
"Pathology for the Masses"
Thirteenth Award (1994) George D. Lundberg, II, MD
Scientific Publications, American Medical Association
Editor, JAMA
Professor of Clinical Pathology
Northwestern University
Adjunct Professor of Health Policy,
Harvard University
Chicago, IL
"American Health System Reform"
Fourteenth Award (1985) Horton A. Johnson, MD
Professor of Pathology
Consultant in Pathology
St. Luke’s-Roosevelt Hospital Center
New York, NY

"The Rembrandt Self-Portraits and the Biology of Aging"
Fifteenth Award (1996) Abul K. Abbas, MD
Professor of Pathology
Harvard Medical School
Head, Immunology Research Division
Department of Pathology
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Boston, MA
"Mechanisms of Immunologic Diseases"
Sixteenth Award (1997)Robert L. Reddick, MD
Professor and Chairman of Pathology and
Distinguished Frank M. Townsend Chair in Pathology
The University of Texas Health Science Center
San Antonio, TX
"Atherosclerosis: A Historical Perspective"
Seventeenth Award (1998) Jurgen Ludwig, MD
Emeritus Professor of Pathology
Mayo Clinic and Mayo Medical School
Rochester, MN
"Obesity and the Liver: Should We Worry?"
Eighteenth Award (1999) J. Charles Jennette, MD
Kenneth M. Brinkhous Distinguished Professor and
Chair of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC

"Vasculitis: The Evolution of Nomenclature and Diagnosis; Naming Is Not Knowing"
Nineteenth Award (2000) Robert Hayes Glew, PhD
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
The University of New Mexico
Health Sciences Center
Albuquerque, NM

"Needs and Opportunities for Public Health Research in Sub-Saharan Africa"
Twentieth Award (2001) Ralph H. Hruban, MD
Professor and Director,
Division of Gastrointestinal/ Liver Pathology
Department of Pathology
John Hopkins Medical Institution
Baltimore, MD
"Pancreatic Cancer: From Genes to Patient Care"
Twenty First Award (2002)Sherif R. Zaki, MD, PhD
Chief, Infectious Disease Pathology Activity Division
of Viral and Rickettsial Diseases
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Public Health Service, Department of Health and Human Services
Atlanta, GA
"Infectious Diseases in Pathology in Public Health"
Twenty Second Award (2003)Nancy L. Harris, MD
Austin L. Vickery Jr., Professor of Pathology
Editor, Case Records of the Massachusetts General Hospital
Harvard Medical School
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA

"Get R.E.A.L. — W.H.O.’s Next: From Controversy to Consensus in Lymphoma Classification"
Twenty Third Award (2004) Marjorie R. Grafe, MD, PhD
Professor of Pathology and Anesthesiology
Medical Director, Neuropathology Section
Oregon Health and Science University
Portland, OR

"The Pathogenesis of Cerebral Palsy: A Pathologist’s Perspective"
Twenty Fourth Award (2005) Brian West, MD, FRCPath
Professor of Pathology
Director of AmeriPath New York
Gastrointestinal Diagnostics
Shelton, CT

"Hemochromatosis: Bronze Diabetes form the Iron Age to the Molecular"
Twenty Fifth Award (2006) Celeste N. Powers, MD
Professor and Chair
Division of Anatomic Pathology
Director of Cytopathology Laboratory
Medical College of Virginia Hospitals and
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA

"Interventional Cytopathology: the Evolution of a Discipline"
Twenty Sixth Award (2007)Robert Lee Hunter, Jr. MD, PhD
Professor and Chairman
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
University of Texas — Houston Medical School
Houston TX

"Cord Factor, the Jekyll and Hyde Player in the Pathogenesis of Tuberculosis"
Twenty Seventh Award (2008) Fred George Silva, II, MD
Executive Vice-President/secretary-Treasurer
The United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology
Adjunct Professor of Pathology, Emory University
Atlanta, GA

"The Future of Anatomic Pathology"
Twenty Eight Award (2009) Andrew H. Lichtman, MD, PhD
Professor of Pathology
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA

"Inflammation, Immunity and Atherosclerosis: Lessons for Integrated Pathology Education"
Twenty Ninth Award (2010) Elizabeth Matthews Brunt, MD
Professor of Pathology
Washington University School of Medicine
Department of Pathology and Immunology
St. Louis, Missouri

"Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease: What Is It and Why Does It Matter?"
Thirtieth Award (2011) Harvey Alter, MD, FACP
Distinguished NIH Investigator
Chief, Clinical Studies &
Associate Director of Research
Department of Transfusion Medicine
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD

"Post-Transfusion Hepatitis in Historical Perspective: From Hippocrates to Eradication"
Thirty First Award (2012) J. Stephen Dumler, MD
Professor, Division of Medical Microbiology
Department of Pathology
The John Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD

"Tick-borne Disease: The new Epidemic - Science, Social Media,
and Politics"
Thirty Second Award (2013)Agnes B. Fogo, MD
John L. Shapiro Chair of Pathology
Professor, Department of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology
Department of Medicine and Pediatrics
Director of Renal/EM Division of Pathology
Director, Renal Pathology Fellowship Programs
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN

"Progression vs. Regression of Chronic Kidney Disease"