Dr. Amber HairfieldAmber Hairfield DO
Program Director
Chair, Grad. Med. Ed. Comm.
Rodriguez-LienMonica Huff MD
Associate Program Director
Christy L Humphry class=Christy L Humphrey
Residency Program Manager
(409) 747-0534
Blanca Araujo class=Blanca Araujo
Administrative Associate
(409) 772-0192

Resident Honors and Awards

Daeschner Resident Scholar Award:

Awarded at the end of the year to one Pediatrics resident who has displayed exemplary skills in his or her knowledge of health care, clinical patient management, and medical professionalism and has served as an excellent role model for all other physicians-in-training. The award is based on attendance to didactic and educational sessions, ITE scores, MOE Part II points, and faculty, students, and peer evaluations.

          2023 Awardee - Dr. Sara Ali

          Thayer Award for Excellence in Teaching:

          The Thayer Award is given to a resident or fellow who demonstrates sound scientific knowledge, compassion towards patients, and dedication to learning and teaching. Candidates can be nominated by any medical student or faculty by contacting an Osler Student Scholar. Traditionally, nine (9) residents/fellows are selected per annum by the Osler Student Scholars. The recipient’s Residency Director and Chair will be notified of their achievement. He or she will be congratulated and presented with an award check during their respective Departmental Grand Rounds.

                  2023 Recipient - Dr. Sara Ali

                  Humanism & Excellence in Teaching Award

                  Third-year students choose a select number of residents to receive the Gold Foundation Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award, based on their demonstration of commitment to teaching and compassionate treatment of patients and families, students,     and colleagues. Each award winner is presented with a certificate, a specially designed lapel pin, and a monetary gift from the John P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine. The awardees are also showcased on the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) website.

                  2019 Recipients included Dr. Maria Franco Fuenmayor

                  Peer Nominated Awards

                  Each year, the residents nominate and select a member from each class who exemplifies the 6 ACGME pillars of physicians, including medical knowledge, patient care, system’s based practice, problem-based learning and improvement, interpersonal communication skills, and professionalism. 

                  2023 Recipients

                  Intern of the Year - Dr. Chau Nguyen
                  PGY2 of the Year - Dr. Meredith Suggs