About the AcademyJohn P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine

In 2001, Houston physician-philanthropist John P. McGovern donated $5 million to provide endowments for the William Osler Scholars: practicing physicians on the School of Medicine faculty selected based on their history of giving highly competent, humane, compassionate care and serving as outstanding teachers and role models for these qualities. Each Osler Scholar holds the honor for five years; together, they comprise the new John P. McGovern, M.D., Academy of Oslerian Medicine. 


The Academy meets twice a month, on the first and third Tuesdays, to study Osler and to develop ways to integrate the ideals and examples of Sir William Osler into the UTMB curriculum and culture. Every six weeks, this meeting is open to UTMB and to the public as the UTMB Osler Club.

Of further interest is the John P. McGovern Hall of Medical History, which consists of 12 statues representing outstanding figures in the field of medicine. These works by medical sculptor Doris Appel, who selected the individuals to depict, provide a journey through medical history, from 2600 B.C.E., the time of the Egyptian Imhotep, to the turn of the 20th century, when Marie Curie discovered radium.

The John P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine: The First Ten Years

image of seal

A rich legacy comprising more than a century of interest in medical humanities, humanistic medical practice, medical history, and medical ethics coupled with the efforts of countless physicians and scholars culminated in the birth of the John P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine. This history tells the story of that academy's creation and accomplishments during its first decade.

Read History of the Academy Volume I.
Read History of the Academy Volume II.