Practice of Medicine 4 Oslerian Essay AwardsJohn P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine

Fourth Year medical students voluntarily enroll in the Practice of Medicine-4 Course. Students meet monthly in small groups with faculty facilitators. During the POM-4 Course, students continue to reflect and grow in their professional identity by continuing their mentoring relationship with a faculty facilitator. Topics of discussion include (but are not limited to) reflection, mentoring, career planning, professionalism, and the healthcare system structure. One session is dedicated to Sir William Osler in which students write an essay about Osler’s contributions to medical education for medical students and postgraduates in training. The John P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine sponsors an award for this essay. Each facilitator may nominate two (2) essays from their group for consideration.
2021 AWARD Recipients:
  • Justin Cordova
  • Lenexa Morais
  • Rahul Shah
Previous recipients:

2020 - Tyler Brehm, Beatriz Thames and Dania Albaba
2019 - Benjamin Parva, James Randall, and Danielle Strah

Recipients are honored during the March Osler Club meeting.