Excellence in Clinical Teaching AwardsJohn P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine


This year, five faculty were selected for the Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award. This award recognizes the fundamental concept, exemplified by Sir William Osler, that the development of outstanding physicians occurs primarily in clinical settings (ambulatory or in-patient). This honor is accompanied by a monetary award for support of his or her professional development and/or teaching programs.

The following attributes are used to define excellence in clinical teaching:
  • Demonstrates patient-centered focus of excellent teaching and care;
  • Serves as a role model of care and compassion of learners and patients and exemplifies professional behavior; shows respect for the learner, patient, and other health care providers;
  • Demonstrates enthusiasm and enjoyment;
  • Demonstrates inquisitiveness and values inquiry;
  • Creates an enjoyable, challenging, and "safe" learning environment;
  • Sets high, but obtainable, standards;
  • Assists in the development of clinical skills, including patient history, physical exam, procedures, and clinical reasoning;
  • Integrates basic science with clinical care;
  • Demonstrates patience;
  • Demonstrates flexibility and adaptability; is open-minded
  • Provides useful and relevant feedback;
  • Demonstrates teamwork and multi-disciplinary care;
  • Is genuine.

Individuals selected will be ineligible for two subsequent years after selection.

2022 Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award Recipients

Dr. L. Maria Belalcazar, Dept. of Internal Medicine-Endocrinology
Dr. Khaled F. Chatila, Dept. of Internal Medicine-Cardiology
Dr. Hania Kassem, Dept. of Internal Medicine-Nephrology
Dr. Arsalan Saleem, Dept. of Radiology
Dr. Lindsay K. Sonstein, Dept. of Internal Medicine-General Medicine

2021 Awardees

Dr. John C. Hagedorn, II, Dept. of Orthopaedic Surgery & Rehabilitation
Dr. Andrew G. Lee, Dept. of Ophthalmology
Dr. Jennifer R. Raley, Dept. of Family Medicine
Dr. David Reynoso, Dept. of Internal Medicine & Infectious Diseases
Dr. Beth M. Teegarden, Dept. of Anesthesiology