The John D. and Mary Ann Stobo Award in Oslerian MedicineJohn P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine

Stobos photoEach year, the McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine selects a student to receive an award established personally by Jack and Mary Ann Stobo. Although its monetary value is generous, the prestige attached is even more significant, because it was endowed by a University of Texas Medical Branch president.

John D. Stobo was president of UTMB from 1997-2007. Born in Massachusetts, Dr. Stobo attended Dartmouth College in New Hampshire and obtained his medical degree from the State University of New York. After an internship with the Osler Medical Service at The Johns Hopkins Hospital, Stobo served as chief medical resident at Johns Hopkins from 1972-1973. After serving as faculty at the Mayo Clinic and the University of California, he returned to Johns Hopkins in 1985 as a professor, then director of medicine and physician-in-chief, and ultimately named chairman of Johns Hopkins Healthcare. During his time there, he advocated for women in medicine, enhanced mentoring in the department, and improved the recruitment of minorities. Under Stobo's leadership at UTMB, the university achieved a ten-year rise in National Institutes of Health funding. In 2008, the university named him president emeritus.

Most of the awards the McGovern Academy confers are designated for the School of Medicine. The Stobo Award, however, can go to a student from any school, and it typically rotates among them. Recipients must embody the ideals of humane, compassionate, scientifically sound, patient-centered care. The student selected needn't be the top in his or her class but does need to be meeting academic expectations.

The 2024 Recipient is:

Brandon S. Miller

Previous recipients:

  • 2023 - Ryan A. Shepherd
  • 2022 -Reginald Whittington
  • 2021 - Derrick C. Gibson
  • 2020 - Jailen Escamillia

The recipients are honored during the annual Osler Oration