Osler Student Activities John P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine

Bioethics Bowl & Discourse

First and second-year Osler Student Society medical students form teams which are presented with medical ethics cases and are judged according to the quality and incisiveness of their reasoning about the cases. Teams from all eight societies participate in preliminary rounds which result in 2 teams vying for the championship on the final night which includes dinner and guest speaker. In 2023 for the 14th annual event, the Vesalius team won 1st place, with the Blackwell society taking 2nd place. Dr. Jacob Moses, Assistant Professor in Bioethics and Health Humanities, was the speaker for the Post-Bowl Discourse. The winning team receives a Bioethics Bowl plaque with their names inscribed that hangs in the Latch Key Room of Old Red.