The Thayer Award for Excellence in TeachingJohn P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine


The Thayer Award is given to a resident or fellow who demonstrates sound scientific knowledge, compassion towards patients, and dedication to learning and teaching. Candidates can be nominated by any medical student or faculty by contacting an Osler Student Scholar.

Traditionally, nine (9) residents/fellows are selected per annum by the Osler Student Scholars. The recipient’s Residency Director and Chair will be notified of their achievement. He or she will be congratulated and presented with an award check during their respective Departmental Grand Rounds.

William S. Thayer, M.D.

awards_thayer_oslerWilliam S. Thayer was born in Milton, Massachusetts and received his B.A. in 1885, and his M.D. in 1889, both from Harvard University. After a year of study at the universities of Berlin and Vienna, he came to the Johns Hopkins Hospital where he became William Osler's first resident. Thayer joined the faculty of the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine in 1896 as an associate professor of medicine and served as head of the Johns Hopkins Hospital medical clinic from 1898 until 1905, when be became professor of clinical medicine.

In 1917, Thayer was offered the directorship of the department of medicine, but because of his distinguished service as chief medical consultant to the American Expeditionary Forces in France, his appointment was delayed until 1919. Upon his retirement in 1921, he was named professor emeritus. Thayer's research interests included a number of infectious and cardiovascular diseases, especially bacterial endocarditis. His academic contributions include organizing the first course in clinical microscopy for the medical school.

2021 Recipients:

  • Dr. Alisha Adhikari - Department of Pediatrics
  • Dr. Elizabeth I. Davis - Department of Internal Medicine
  • Dr. Brittany Duong - Department of Internal Medicine
  • Dr. Elias J. Farran - Department of Urology
  • Dr. Kevin J. Hancock - Department of Surgery
  • Dr. Paige E. Hoyer - Department of Dermatology
  • Dr. Byron D. Hughes - Department of Surgery
  • Dr. Reshma Patel - Department of Pediatrics
  • Patrick D. Sweet - Department of Internal Medicine
  • Dr. Andrew M. Vela - Department of Internal Medicine

2020 Recipients:

  • Dr. Charlena J. Melnyk - Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
  • Dr. Adam V. Nguyen - Department of Dermatology
  • Dr. Arsalan Saleem - Department of Radiology
  • Dr. Paul J. Weatherby - Department of Orthopaedic Surgery