Excellence in Basic Science or Humanities Selective Essay AwardJohn P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine

Jeffrey Eaton, 2005 BSH Essay Award Recipient. Presented by Dr. Judith AronsonThe John P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine is comprised of physicians in the School of Medicine selected for their dedication to the ideals of clinical practice, education, and humanities in medicine as taught by Sir William Osler. The academy established this Award for Excellence in Basic Sciences or Humanities for an essay written by a senior medical student taking a fourth-year selective course. Known as Osler Scholars, the faculty members of the academy award the prize to a student whose paper reflects astute observation and either an exceptional grasp of scientific method and analysis or an equally exceptional ability to apply the humanities to the issue discussed, combined with a clear articulation of these concepts.

2024 BSHS Essay Award Recipient:

Christine A. Crumbley

Previous recipients:

  • 2023 - Lillianne M. Villarreal
  • 2022 - Daniel C. Bradford
  • 2021 - Maeka A. De La Torre