Lifetime Achievement AwardJohn P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine

John P. McGovern

In 2001, UTMB’s Office of the President established the John P. McGovern Lifetime Achievement Award in Oslerian Medicine, an award that recognizes the practice and teaching of humane medicine in the tradition of Sir William Osler and affirms the university’s commitment to Oslerian ideals. Born in 1849 in Canada, Osler served on the medical faculties of McGill, the University of Pennsylvania, and Johns Hopkins, reaching the peak of his career as Regius professor of medicine at Oxford. Osler pioneered the practice of teaching at the bedside and initiated the modern residency program. His The Principles and Practice of Medicine was the standard text for half a century of medical students. Above all, Osler demonstrated, in both patient care and teaching, deep compassion, understanding, and love for his fellow human beings.

Candidates for the award include anyone who is a School of Medicine alumnus or has completed their residency, a fellowship or spent time as a faculty member for greater than or equal to 5 years. The selection will be made by the McGovern Academy's current Osler Scholars who will assess nominees for their longstanding and distinguished careers of service in four categories:

  • Combining scientific principles with humane practice in his/her clinical care and being committed to the relief of patients' suffering;
  • Displaying imaginative, innovative, and inspirational teaching;
  • Displaying exemplary personal attributes: honesty, modesty, generosity, affection, a respect for the past, spirituality and passion for aesthetic and creative pursuits; and
  • Displaying social consciousness and community involvement.

Current Recipient

2023 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Janak A. Patel, MD, FAAP, FIDSA, FPIDS

Dr. Janak A. Patel is Professor of Pediatrics and Director of Department of Infection Control & Healthcare Epidemiology at UTMB. He joined UTMB in 1989 as Assistant Professor, Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases in the Department of Pediatrics where he served as division director from 1995 to 2021. In 2017, he was appointed as Director of Infection Control & Healthcare Epidemiology. He has participated extensively in patient care, teaching, research and administration, including many in leadership roles. As an infectious disease specialist, Dr. Patel established several clinical initiatives, most notably the Maternal-Child HIV Program which has provided comprehensive care to HIV+ pregnant women to reduce perinatal HIV transmission. In his current role as Director of Infection Control, Dr. Patel takes special pride in being able to work with the UTMB COVID Clinical Task Force and COVID Vaccine Task Force, and public health counterparts to tackle the COVID pandemic.

 Dr. Patel has been the principal investigator or co-investigator in more than 50 clinical and bench research projects funded by the National Institutes of Health, pharmaceutical corporations and other agencies. Dr. Patel has authored more than 120 articles which have been published in peer-reviewed journals and textbooks. Dr. Patel earned his medical degree at the School of Medicine, University of Ibadan, Nigeria. He finished a pediatric residency at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey—Robert Wood Johnson Medical School in New Brunswick, New Jersey. He completed his fellowship in pediatric infectious diseases at the Children’s Hospital of Buffalo, State University of New York at Buffalo.